115th Annual Conference - Honolulu, Hawaii
Friday, November 10 - Sunday, November 12, 2017

Call for Papers: Session Topics

For a list of sessions still looking for proposals, see below under "Open (accepting submissions)." This is a "sudden death submission period," so please propose quickly--sessions will be removed when filled.

2017 PAMLA Conference

Please review the Guidelines and Procedures before submitting a proposal. In particular, please note:

  • Members may only deliver one paper at the conference. You may submit more than one proposal, but as soon as you accept an invitation, you must inform the organizers of the other sessions that you are no longer eligible to present in their sessions.
  • Papers may not be read in absentia.
  • Participation in the conference requires payment of PAMLA 2017 membership dues by July 15 and the separate conference registration fee by October 1. A combined membership/conference fee is available for convenience, and we strongly encourage you to take advantage of this option by July 15.

How to Submit

Submit proposals to any open topic area using the Online Proposal Submission Form. You will need to register and login to access the form (if you created an account last year, you can use it again; if you forgot your username or password, visit the Password Recovery page).

Questions

Questions about a specific session or topic area should be directed to the Presiding Officer listed below. Use these addresses for questions only. Proposals should be submitted using the online form. Completing the form will send an email to the Presiding Officer as well as gather other information we need to construct the conference program.

General inquiries about PAMLA or the conference may be directed to the Executive Director Craig Svonkin at svonkin@netzero.com.

Questions regarding the website or the submission form may be directed to the Webmaster at webmaster@pamla.org.

Open (accepting submissions)

Title Presiding Officer Session Type
Autobiography Craig Svonkin, Metropolitan State University of Denver
svonkin@netzero.com
Standing Session
Biblical Visions in Literature Leonard Koff, University of California, Los Angeles
ljkoff@aol.com
Special Session
British Literature and Culture: 20th and 21st Century Craig Svonkin, Metropolitan State University of Denver
svonkin@netzero.com
Standing Session
Comparative Literature Andrea Gogrof, Western Washington University
agogrof@gmail.com
Standing Session
Comparative Media Studies Carole-Anne Tyler, University of California, Riverside
caroleanne.tyler@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Conversations with the Past: Revising the Masters Sandra M. Doe, Metropolitan State University of Denver, Tameca L Coleman, Regis University
drsandradoe@gmail.com
Special Session
Conversations with the Past: Revising the Masters Sandra M. Doe, Metropolitan State University of Denver, Tameca L Coleman, Regis University
tameca.coleman@gmail.com
Special Session
Creative Writing: Poetry Renee Ruderman, Metropolitan State University of Denver
rudermar@msudenver.edu
Standing Session
Cultures of Teaching Craig Svonkin, Metropolitan State University of Denver
svonkin@netzero.com
Special Session
East-West Circulations and Economies Craig Svonkin, Metropolitan State University of Denver
svonkin@netzero.com
Special Session
Face and Speech: The Audiovisual Scene of Knowing and Encountering Tingting Hui, Leiden University Centre for the Arts in Society (LUCAS)
t.hui@hum.leidenuniv.nl
Special Session
Film in a Francophone Context Nathalie Segeral, University of Hawai'i, Manoa
nsegeral@hawaii.edu
Special Session
Folklore and Mythology John J. Thompson, Cal Poly State University, San Luis Obispo
jjthomps@calpoly.edu
Standing Session
Indigenous Literatures and Cultures Clarissa Castaneda, University of California, Riverside
clarissa.alvina.castaneda@gmail.com
Standing Session
Librettology and Opera Studies Enrico Orsingher, Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris, France
enrico.orsingher@gmail.com
Special Session
Literature and Tourism Amanda Smith, University of California, Santa Cruz
ams@ucsc.edu
Special Session
Material Cultures: Objects Transparent and Opaque Imke Meyer, University of Illinois, Chicago
ixmeyer@uic.edu
Special Session
Mindsightings Markus Bohlmann, Seneca College
markus.bohlmann@senecacollege.ca
Special Session
New Italians Gloria Pastorino, Fairleigh Dickinson University
gloria.pastorino@gmail.com
Standing Session
Nordic Literature and Culture Erla Maria Marteinsdottir, "University of California, Riverside"
erla.marteinsdottir@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Other Vampires Cheryl Edelson, Chaminade University of Honolulu
cedelson@chaminade.edu
Special Session
Philosophy and Literature Cheryl Edelson, Chaminade University of Honolulu
cedelson@chaminade.edu
Special Session
Post-Family Studies Craig Svonkin, Metropolitan State University of Denver
svonkin@netzero.com
Special Session
Representations of the Colonial Other in the Visual Arts Craig Svonkin, Metropolitan State University of Denver
svonkin@netzero.com
Special Session
Repurposing 19th Century American Literature: Teaching to Non-traditional Students Geoff Cohen, University of California, Riverside
geoff.cohen@ucr.edu
Special Session
Sight, Visibility, and Disability in American Literature Kimberly Drake, Scripps College
kdrake@scrippscollege.edu
Special Session
Victorian Empire and Oceania Anna Feuerstein, University of Hawai'i, Manoa
annamf@hawaii.edu
Special Session
Vision and Desire: Between the Body and the Unseen Domenico Ingenito, UCLA
pessoa1982@gmail.com
Special Session
Western American Literature Cheryl Edelson, Chaminade University of Honolulu
cedelson@chaminade.edu
Standing Session

Closed (not accepting submissions)

Title Presiding Officer Session Type
21st Century Literature John D. Schwetman, University of Minnesota, Duluth
jschwetm@d.umn.edu
Special Session
Adaptation Studies Lindsay Schaffer, University of California - Riverside
lscha005@ucr.edu
Standing Session
African American Literature Carlton Floyd, University of San Diego
carldfloyd@gmail.com
Standing Session
American Literature after 1865 Andrew Howe, La Sierra University
ahowe@lasierra.edu
Standing Session
American Literature before 1865 Mikayo Sakuma, Wayo Women's University
mikasakuma@aol.com
Standing Session
Ancient-Modern Relations Jesse Weiner, Hamilton College
jweiner@hamilton.edu
Standing Session
Architecture, Space, and Literature Holly Henry, California State University, San Bernardino
hhenry@csusb.edu
Standing Session
Asian American Literary & Cultural Studies Eve Oishi, Claremont Graduate University
eve.oishi@cgu.edu
Standing Session
Asian Literature Satoko Kakihara, California State University Fullerton
satoko.kakihara@gmail.com
Standing Session
Austrian Studies Andre Schuetze, Tulane University
fabriziodisalina@gmail.com
Standing Session
British Literature and Culture: Long 18th Century Jenni Keys, California State University, San Bernardino
Jkeys@csusb.edu
Standing Session
British Literature and Culture: Long 19th Century Winona Howe, La Sierra University
whowe@lasierra.edu
Standing Session
British Literature and Culture: To 1700 Sonia Desai, University of California, Irvine
smdesai@uci.edu
Standing Session
Caribbean Literature and Film: Global Visions Stephanie Hankinson, University of Washington
skh216@uw.edu
Special Session
Children's Literature Stacie Vos, University of California, San Diego
snvos@ucsd.edu
Standing Session
Classics (Greek) Tim Watson, California State University, Northridge
timwatson77@gmail.com
Standing Session
Classics (Latin) Carly Maris, UC Riverside
cmari008@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Classics (Reception) Ellen Finkelpearl, Scripps College
efinkelp@scrippscollege.edu
Special Session
Coalitional Feminisms Melanie Hernandez, California State University, Fresno
melanieh@csufresno.edu
Special Session
Comics and Graphic Narratives Sam Johnson, Wenatchee Valley College
samuel.hartwell.johnson@gmail.com
Standing Session
Comparative American Ethnic Literature Tracee Howell, University of Pittsburgh, Bradford
tlh35@pitt.edu
Standing Session
Composition and Rhetoric Brooke A. Carlson, Chaminade University of Honolulu
brooke.carlson@chaminade.edu
Standing Session
Continental Romanticism Larry H. Peer, Brigham Young University
larry_peer@byu.edu
Special Session
Creative Writing: Literary Nonfiction and Memoir J. Mark Smith, MacEwan University
smithj105@macewan.ca
Special Session
Creative Writing: Prose David N. Odhiambo, University of Hawai'i, West O'ahu
odhiambo@hawaii.edu
Standing Session
Creative Writing: The Voyeur in (and of) Fiction Sean Bernard, University of La Verne
sbernard@laverne.edu
Special Session
Critical Pedagogy: Understanding Place in Composition Michael Pak, University of Hawai'i, Manoa
pakm@hawaii.edu
Special Session
Critical Theory John Namjun Kim, UC Riverside
john.kim@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Digital Feminisms and Visions of Transnational Social Justice Activism Katrina Sark, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Lorely French, Pacific University
ksark@uvic.ca
Special Session
Digital Feminisms and Visions of Transnational Social Justice Activism Katrina Sark, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Lorely French, Pacific University
frenchl@pacificu.edu
Special Session
Disney and Its Worlds Jeremiah Axelrod, Institute for the Study of Los Angeles, Occidental College
axelrod@oxy.edu
Standing Session
Drama and Society Kimberly Jew, University of Utah
kimberly.jew@utah.edu
Special Session
East-West Literary Relations Mike Sugimoto, Pepperdine University
mike.sugimoto@pepperdine.edu
Standing Session
Ecocriticism (co-sponsored by Association for the Study of Literature & Environment) Ted Geier, University of California, Davis
tegeier@ucdavis.edu
Standing Session
Ekphrasis and Persuasion: The Dialectic of Eye and Mind in the Psyche of the Literary Text Diana Shaffer, Independent Scholar
diana.shaffer@tx.rr.com
Special Session
Epistemologies of Sight and Touch in American Literature Emily Butler-Probst, University of Colorado, Boulder
emily.butlerprobst@colorado.edu
Special Session
Film and History Kenneth C. Hough, University of California, Santa Barbara
khough1971@gmail.com
Special Session
Film and Literature James R. Aubrey, Metropolitan State University of Denver
aubreyj@msudenver.edu
Standing Session
Film Studies Dawn Dietrich, Western Washington University
Dawn.Dietrich@wwu.edu
Standing Session
Food Studies Sarah Gordon, Utah State University
sarah.gordon@usu.edu
Standing Session
Franz Kafka: New Readings for the 21st Century Brigitte Prutti, University of Washington
triest@uw.edu
Special Session
French Natalie Muñoz, CSU Fresno
nmunoz@csufresno.edu
Standing Session
Gay, Lesbian, and Transgender Literature and Culture Ashley Kimura, San Francisco State University
ay.kay.kay03@gmail.com
Standing Session
Gendering Madness: Representations of "Female Madness" in Contemporary French and Francophone Film and Literature Nathalie Segeral, University of Hawai'i, Manoa
nsegeral@hawaii.edu
Special Session
Germanic Studies Karin Bauer, McGill University
karin.bauer@mcgill.ca
Standing Session
Global Media Ecologies Heidi Schlipphacke, University of Illinois, Chicago
heidis@uic.edu
Special Session
Gothic Kimberly Honda, Mills College
kimberlyahonda@gmail.com
Standing Session
Images of Crisis: Poetic Ways of Seeing Disasters Toshiaki Komura, Kobe College
tkomur@umich.edu
Special Session
In Search of the Californio Archive Judit Palencia Gutiérrez, University of California - Riverside
jpale002@ucr.edu
Special Session
Italian Enrico Vettore, California State University, Long Beach
enrico.vettore@csulb.edu
Standing Session
Italian Cinema Fulvio Orsitto, Georgetown University
fo110@georgetown.edu
Standing Session
Italian Ecocriticism Ilaria Tabusso Marcyan, University of San Diego
itabusso-marcyan@sandiego.edu
Standing Session
Japanese Visual Culture David Boyd, University of Glasgow
daveebee@gmail.com
Special Session
Jewish Literature and Culture Craig Svonkin, Metropolitan State University of Denver
svonkin@netzero.com
Standing Session
Labor and Literature Leslie Lopez, "University of Hawai'i, West O'ahu, Center for Labor Education and Research"
lalopez@hawaii.edu
Special Session
Language Teaching at the Crossroads: Innovations and Insights for the 21st Century Craig Svonkin, Metropolitan State University of Denver
svonkin@netzero.com
Special Session
Latinx Literature and Culture Michael Moreno, Green River College
mmoreno@greenriver.edu
Standing Session
Linguistics Melissa Axelrod, University of New Mexico
axelrod@unm.edu
Standing Session
Literature & Religion Arpi Movsesian, University of California, Santa Barbara
movsesian@umail.ucsb.edu
Standing Session
Literature & the Other Arts Craig Svonkin, Metropolitan State University of Denver
svonkin@netzero.com
Standing Session
Medieval Literature John M. Ganim, UC Riverside
john.ganim@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Memory and Migration in German-Language Literature and Film Friederike von Schwerin-High, Pomona College
Friederike.vonSchwerin-High@pomona.edu
Special Session
Mid-Twentieth Century Poetry (co-sponsored by the Robert Lowell Society) Steven Gould Axelrod, University of California, Riverside
steven.axelrod@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Middle English Literature, Including Chaucer Peter Nicholson, University of Hawai`i at Manoa
nicholson@hawaii.rr.com
Standing Session
New Paths to Old Problems: Innovative Cures for Atrophying Language Programs Gabriele Dillmann, Denison University
dillmann@denison.edu
Special Session
Oceanic Literatures and Cultures Stanley Orr, University of Hawai'i, West O'ahu
sorr@hawaii.edu
Standing Session
Old English Literature, Including Beowulf Derek Updegraff, California Baptist University
dupdegraff@calbaptist.edu
Standing Session
Otherness and Populism Fazia Aitel, Claremont McKenna College
faitel@cmc.edu
Special Session
Pedagogy for Difficult Times Valerie Woodward, El Camino College, Compton Center
vwoodward@elcamino.edu
Special Session
Performing The Early Modern English Woman (1500-1700): Seeing and Being Seen on the Domestic, Civic, and Dramatic Stage Shane Wood, University of California, Irvine
shanek.m.wood@gmail.com
Special Session
Perspective and/as Gaming Victoria White, University of California, Davis
vmwhite@ucdavis.edu
Special Session
Poetry and Poetics Brian Reed, University of Washington
bmreed@u.washington.edu
Standing Session
Postcolonial Literature Carmen Nolte-Odhiambo, University of Hawaii, West Oahu
cnolte@hawaii.edu
Standing Session
Religion in American Literature Martin W Kevorkian, University of Texas, Austin
mkevorkian@utexas.edu
Special Session
Rhetorical Approaches to Literature Lash Keith Vance, University of California, Riverside
lash.vance@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Romanticism Dewey W. Hall, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
dwhall@cpp.edu
Standing Session
Science Fiction Justin Wyble, Chaminade University of Honolulu
justin.wyble@chaminade.edu
Standing Session
Seeing Masculine Alternatives: Queer Masculinities in American Visual Cultures Edward Chamberlain, University of Washington Tacoma
ec10@uw.edu
Special Session
Sensing Poverty: Visions of Vulnerable Children Kirsten Clemens, Appalachian State University
clemenskm@appstate.edu
Special Session
Shakespeare and Related Topics Deborah Willis, University of California - Riverside
deborah.willis@ucr.edu
Standing Session
Spain, Portugal, and Latin America: Jewish Culture and Literature in Trans-Iberia Maria Elva Echenique, University of Portland
echeniqu@up.edu
Standing Session
Spanish and Portuguese (Latin American) Yolanda Doub, "California State University, Fresno"
ydoub@csufresno.edu
Standing Session
Spanish and Portuguese (Peninsular) Marta Albalá Pelegrín, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
martaa@cpp.edu
Standing Session
Teaching for the Post-Anthropocene Ron Milland, Independent Scholar
ron2154@gmail.com
Special Session
Teaching with Media and Technology Ryan Lambert, Community College of Denver
ryan.lambert@ccd.edu
Standing Session
Television Studies Kristin Brunnemer, Pierce College
kbrunnemer@pierce.ctc.edu
Standing Session
Translating Ways of Seeing: Textual, Visual and Metaphorical Transmigrations Sufen Lai, Grand Valley State University
lais@gvsu.edu
Special Session
Translation of and into Vision in Comics/Animations and the Politics of Graphic Negotiation Takayuki Yokota-Murakami, Osaka University
yokotamurakami@fulbrightmail.org
Special Session
Travel and Literature RIchard Hill, Chaminade University of Honolulu
richard.hill@chaminade.edu
Standing Session
Un camino difícil/ A difficult journey: Cultural products about (il)legal (Im)migration Sonia Barrios Tinoco, Seattle University
barrioss@seattleu.edu
Special Session
Video Game Studies: The Visual Politics of Play Daniel Ante-Contreras, University of California, Riverside
dante001@ucr.edu
Special Session
Visibility of Terrorism Alan Rosenfeld, University of Hawai'i, West O'ahu
alan3@hawaii.edu
Special Session
Visual Iberia: From Manuscript Illuminations to the Digital Era Marta Albalá Pelegrín, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
martaa@cpp.edu
Special Session
Voice Studies Katherine Kinney, University of California, Riverside
katherine.kinney@ucr.edu
Special Session
Women in French I: Stratégies narratives pour le dire et le lire Annabelle Dolidon, Portland State University
dolidon@pdx.edu
Standing Session
Women in French II: In-the-Classroom Ideas & Strategies for Teaching French at All Levels (Roundtable) Annabelle Dolidon, Portland State University
dolidon@pdx.edu
Standing Session
Women in French III: 3 Dimensions: Virtual & Physical Spaces—Refuges, Enclaves, Critical Spaces and Viewpoints Jodie Barker, University of Nevada, Reno
jodiebarker@unr.edu
Standing Session
Women in Literature Diana Newby, Columbia University
drn2120@columbia.edu
Standing Session
Writing Across the Disciplines: Teaching as Ways of Seeing, Making Visible, Reimagining Shefali Rajamannar, University of Southern California
rajamann@dornsife.usc.edu
Special Session
Young Adult Literature Kate Carnell Watt, University of California, Riverside
kate.watt@ucr.edu
Special Session
“I Wish You Water”: Visual Memory and Representational Relationships with Oceans or Water Hill Taylor, Oregon Health and Science University
taylorhi@ohsu.edu
Special Session

Cancelled (not being held)

Title Presiding Officer Session Type
Blindness and Vision, Hidden and Revealed: Interpretations of Sight in Ancient Religious Texts Pete Steiger, Chaminade University of Honolulu
psteiger@chaminade.edu
Special Session
French Enlightenment Chloe Edmondson, Stanford University
cmhse14@stanford.edu
Special Session
Godfather at 45 Melissa Conway, Independent Scholar
drmconway@aya.yale.edu
Special Session
Iconic Images in Media Meghmik Mardian, Ashford University
Megmardian@gmail.com
Special Session
La télévision dans la littérature et le cinéma français et francophones (Television in French/Francophone Literature and Film) Cecile Hanania, Western Washington University
cecile.hanania@wwu.edu
Special Session
Murals and Social Phenomena Laura Giancaspero, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3
laura.giancaspero@gmail.com
Special Session
On Miracles, Travelers and Visionaries in the Iberian World Marta Albalá Pelegrín, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
martaa@cpp.edu
Special Session
Seeing Plays: Spectatorship in Early Modern Theater Sawyer K Kemp, University of California at Davis
skkemp@ucdavis.edu
Special Session
The Visibility of Knowledge: Spanish Culture at the Council of Trent Marta Albalá Pelegrín, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
martaa@cpp.edu
Special Session
Women in German Stefanie Ohnesorg, University of Tennessee
ohnesorg@utk.edu
Standing Session
“See, see! What shall I see?” Illustrators of Traditional Nursery Rhymes Kent Hooper, University of Puget Sound
hooper@pugetsound.edu
Special Session